I’m a Deer Hunter!

I have been a hunter since my early teens. I’m not what I would call an avid hunter.   I enjoy it, but I don’t feel defined by what I shoot or even if I shoot. I have never left the state on a big game trip. I don’t need to spend hours scouting the woods. I just like to go out in the woods and watch for deer.

Bow hunting is my favorite. I enjoy the challenge of trying to be still enough to let the deer get close. For years I loved to sit in a tree stand and hunt in camo with my compound bow. It was a challenge that took practice, perseverance and patience. Now I use a crossbow and mostly sit in enclosed, raised blinds. I switched to the enclosed blinds because I took a fall and decided safety had its advantages. I switched to the crossbow to accommodate my choice of blind. Since switching, I have come to appreciate the accuracy and power of a crossbow. Fewer wounded and lost deer makes hunting more enjoyable.

But whether I’m in a tree stand, ground blind or raised hunting shack, I enjoy my time in the woods. I like sitting there in the morning as the daylight creeps in. Each ounce of light creates a new picture and the dark corners become shadows that just might be a deer. I had a blind up north where a tree had fallen, and every year I would swear that it was a deer laying there until it was light enough to see. As the sun rises, the animals come out. Every bird darting through the woods is a movement to check out. Every squirrel rustling in the leaves is a reason to freeze and hope it’s a deer walking my way.

Evening hunting may be even better. I get settled in and wait for things to happen. As the shadows lengthen the woods become more and more alive. It’s not unusual to see turkeys, raccoons, porcupines, possum, owls, hawks, and even coyotes. One time I even saw a bear. As the forest darkens, it gets harder and harder to see. When I do see a deer, they seem to appear out of nowhere. I look over and there they stand. Or what was once a shadow is now moving and taking shape.

When this happens, my heart starts racing and I strain to see what it is. Most days it’s a doe and they usually have a fawn or two with them. I am not against shooting a doe, but I try to stay away from those with fawns. I know the fawns will be fine, but that doe will probably have another fawn in the spring. That means more deer for my enjoyment.

On the rare occasion that I see a buck, my excitement levels sky rocket. I don’t dare move. I try and anticipate if I can get a good shot. Ever so slowly I move into position and wait for the perfect moment. I tell myself to relax, breath slowly, and concentrate on the shot. I have had my share of perfect moments. I used to keep track of all the deer I shot, but have long since lost track. The feelings of accomplishment, success, pride and joy are mixed with a reverence for taking a creature of beauty.

Many times the perfect moment never comes. I hate taking a shot I am not confident in. I would rather lose my opportunity than wound an animal. But, if the moment doesn’t come, I’m O.K. with that. Yes I am disappointed and sometimes even angry for a bit. But in the end, I got to sit in the woods and see a buck and that makes for a very good day.

Thanks for Reading!

Dr. Bruce

http://www.brucesextondds.com

About brucesextondds

Family and Cosmetic dentist in Wayland, MI. Modern technology in a warm comfortable atmosphere.
This entry was posted in Information, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment